About the Award

The BIAL Award in Biomedicine 2023, with the amount of 300.000 Euros, seeks to recognise a work published in the broad biomedical field within the last ten years, the results of which are considered of exceptional quality and scientific relevance.

Who can nominate:
- Voting members of the Jury;
- Members of the Scientific Board of the BIAL Foundation;
- Previous BIAL Award winners;
- Scientific Societies in the biomedical field;
- Boards or Deans of Medical Faculties;
- Heads of leading research institutes in the biomedical field;
- Boards or Heads of prestigious Academies;
- In addition, highly qualified researchers may nominate candidate works, but self-nominations are not accepted.

The BIAL Award in Biomedicine, which has the Patronage of the President of the Portuguese Republic, the Council of Rectors of Portuguese Universities and the European Medical Association, from 2019 onwards started to be attributed in odd years, alternating with the Prémio BIAL de Medicina Clínica.

BIAL Award in Biomedicine 2023 - Message from the President of the Jury

The BIAL Foundation is soliciting nominations for its 2023 Award in Biomedicine. The Award recognizes a single paper of empirical biomedical research of outstanding scientific quality published in a peer-reviewed journal since 2014. The Award consists of a prize of 300,000 Euro. Nominations may be submitted by an organized group of scientists, such as a university, society, academy, or research institute. The nominating group should not include individuals who contributed to the nominated work. Nominations are welcomed for works authored by scientists at any stage of their career, and from any country around the world.

Ralph Adolphs
President of the Jury 

Nominations must be sent by 30 June 2023 to fundacao@bial.com​


Nomination form up to 10 authors​

Nomination form up to 30 authors​

Note: if the number of authors is more than 30, please send an e-mail to fundacao@bial.com​

BIAL Award in Biomedicine 2023


Ralph Adolphs


European Research Council
Sarah Bray​
Nektarios Tavernarakis​

Council of Rectors of Portuguese Universities
Maria do Carmo Fonseca
Fátima Carneiro

European Medical Association
Vincenzo Costigliola
Olga Golubnitschaja

Scientific Board of the BIAL Foundation
Hugo Critchley
Menno Witter

Previous winners of the BIAL Award
Daniel Pipeleers
Peter St. George-Hyslop

Scientific Journals
Kamran Abbasi - BMJ​
Eric Rubin - NEJM

Previous Editions


BIAL Award in Biomedicine
See More


BIAL Award in Biomedicine
See More